4 players who joined franchises not belonging to their IPL team owners in the UAE T20 League


The franchises of the UAE T20 League or the International League T20 have announced their foreign selections for the first edition. As we know, the owners of four franchises in this league also have a team in the IPL. In the CSA T20 league, all franchises are owned by IPL team owners. It is obvious that the companies behind the IPL teams want to build a brand by having teams in various T20 leagues. In most cases, these owners have hired cricketers who also represent them in the IPL. However, some players do not fall into this category. These players signed up with UAE league franchises, which are not owned by their IPL team owners. The owners of the IPL team have in turn signed different cricketers. It remains to be seen if these players would continue playing for their existing IPL teams next season. On that note, here we take a look at four players who have joined franchises not owned by their IPL team owners in the UAE T20 League.

1) Sam Billings (Desert Vipers) did not join Abu Dhabi Knights

Sam Billings is one of the players who joined franchises that do not belong to their IPL team owners in the UAE T20 League. The owners of Kolkata Knight Riders also own the Abu Dhabi franchise in the UAE. While Sam Billings represents KKR in IPL, he has signed with Lancer Capital owned Desert Vipers in the UAE T20 League.

The captaincy could be the reason for the choice of the English. He is most likely to get the Vipers accountable. In the Abu Dhabi team, however, with players like Andre Russell involved, Billings may not get the chance to lead the team.

2) Fabian Allen (Dubai Capitals) did not join MI Emirates

The versatile West Indian was part of the Mumbai Indians in IPL 2022. However, he didn’t get too many chances to leave an impression. Now he has joined a UAE T20 League franchise, owned by the Delhi Capitals co-owners in IPL.

It won’t be a surprise if MI release Fabian ahead of IPL 2023. They have a similar player in R Sanjay Yadav, who is in good form. Additionally, Fabian’s release will free up a slot overseas, which can be filled with other options.

3) Mohammad Nabi (Sharjah Warriors) did not join Abu Dhabi Knights

Mohammad Nabi is also one of the players who joined franchises that do not belong to their IPL team owners in the UAE T20 League. The Afghan cricketer plays for Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL. However, in the last season, he didn’t have a chance.

Capri Global Capital owns the Sharjah Warriors in the United Arab Emirates. They also own the Gujarat Titans in IPL. It is therefore a surprise that Nabi has signed with the owners of his team’s direct competition in the IPL. The reasons could be that KKR decided to release Nabi or maybe the player signed for Warriors looking for a better opportunity.

4) Dominic Drakes (Gulf Giants) did not join the Sharjah Warriors

Dominic Drakes won the IPL with Gujarat Titans in 2022. However, the West Indian didn’t join the owner-owned team of Gujarat Titans.

Drakes signed with Gulf Giants, which Adani Group owns. It’s also likely that GT could release Drakes before next season. Yash Dayal is doing well as a left-arm tailor and as a result, the West Indian could exceed the requirements.


About Author

Comments are closed.