IPL 2022: Lucknow and Ahmedabad, favorites as bases for two new franchises – Report


Lucknow, Ahmedabad Could Be Bases For Two New IPL Franchises | Courtesy: IPL


  • The IPL will have 10 teams instead of 8 from the 2022 season
  • A number of companies have expressed interest in owning one of the two new teams
  • Ahmedabad, Lucknow, Cuttack, Guwahati, Ranchi and Dharamshala are in contention as bases for the new teams

The Indian Premier League (IPL), arguably the world’s largest franchise-based cricket league, is set to grow with the introduction of two new franchises. From the Adani group to Manchester United owners the Glazers, several big names have reportedly expressed interest in owning one of the two new franchises.

Not only businesses, a number of government agencies are also interested in housing the two new franchises. According to an NDTV report, Lucknow and Ahmedabad are leading the race rankings as host locations for the two new franchises.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) recently extended the deadline for receipt of tender documents for the 9th and 10th IPL franchises. “In accordance with requests from various interested parties, the BCCI has now decided to extend the purchase date of the ITT document until October 20, 2021,” a statement from the BCCI said.

It is not yet clear when the Indian board of directors will announce the names of the two new owners, but there is a good chance that the franchises are based in Ahmedabad and Lucknow.

List of interested parties who have expressed their interest in the two new franchises:

  • Sanjeev Kumar – RPSG.
  • Glazer family – Owners of Manchester United.
  • Adani Group.
  • Naveen Jindal – Jindal Power & Steel.
  • Torrent Pharma.
  • Ronnie Screwvala.
  • Aurobindo Pharma.
  • Kotak Group.
  • HVAC partners.
  • PE company based in Singapore.
  • Hindustan Times Media.
  • ITW broadcast and sport consulting agencies, M.

Alongside Ahmedabad and Lucknow, Cuttack, Guwahati, Ranchi and Dharamsala were shortlisted as bases for the two new teams.

This is not the first time that the BCCI has increased the number of franchises in the league. Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala were part of the league in 2010 before their contracts were terminated.

Rising Pune Supergiant and Gujarat Lions, on the other hand, were recruited as replacement franchises when Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals were suspended from the T20 league for two years.


About Author

Comments are closed.