SLC terminates LPL’s Colombo Kings and Dambulla Viiking franchises


Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has approved the termination of two franchises of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) – Dambulla Viiking and Colombo Kings. That termination came after IPG, LPL rights holders recommended dropping both teams over overdue payments and other allegations.

The owners of the Colombo Kings and Dambulla Viiking ended their relationship with the tournament, which each group was contractually allowed to do. Franchises held respectively by Saza Group of Murfad Mustafa of Dubai and Telugu Warriors Company of Sachin Joshi of India respectively, have been deleted from the LPL roaster.

Lankan Premier League (LPL).

Dambulla Viiking and Colombo Kings had finished among the top two teams in the championship phase of the 2020 LPL edition but ended up losing in the semi-finals of the tournament. Ravin Wickramaratne, the SLC’s vice president in charge of the LPL, told ESPNCricinfo that their withdrawals will not change plans for the tournament which is scheduled to run from July 30 to August 22.

I received other potential franchisees: Ravin Wickramaratne

Cricbuzz reported that the two franchises separated from LPL due to financial issues. In one case, the league official revealed, a check was bounced. Wickramaratne has also confirmed that the 2021 edition will have five teams, although there have been rumors of a sixth team entering the fray.

Colombo Kings (Photo-Twitter)
Colombo Kings (Photo-Twitter)

With the 2nd edition of the LPL expected to begin shortly, the exclusive rights holder to the event, the innovative production group FZE (IPG) has decided to end the ownership of the Colombo Kings and Dambulla Viiking franchises for cause conformity, “ Lanka’s board said in a statement on Saturday (June 26th).

Dambulla Viiking (Photo-Twitter)
Dambulla Viiking (Photo-Twitter)

“As a result, the FZE Innovative Production Group (IPG) has received multiple inquiries from many interested parties and in accordance with the contractual obligation of IPG and Sri Lanka Cricket, for said League, as well as in accordance with the requirement of the International Cricket Council (ICC), have submitted all KYC documents for approval in order to finalize the new set of owners for said teams ”, the SLC statement added.

As for the first edition, the entire tournament is scheduled in Sooriyawewa (Hambantota) to facilitate the maintenance of a biosecure bubble.

Also read: Irfan Pathan Gives Appropriate Response to Twitter User Accusing Him of Unreasonably Praising Virat Kohli


About Author

Comments are closed.