The last comic on the left Vol. 1 • AIPT

0


Z2 comics and The last podcast on the left are teaming up for a new comic book anthology to debut in Spring 2022. Announced today, The last comic on the left Vol. 1 graphic novel will pay homage to the history of horror comics in the same vein as Sinister and Tales from the Crypt.

Creators involved in the project include James Tynion IV, Tyler Boss, Ryan Cady, Morgan Beem, Noah Van Sciver, Logan Faerber, Rick Veitch, Eliot Rahal, and more.


Listen to the latest episode of our weekly comic book podcast!

Courtesy of Z2, AIPT has an exclusive preview of a print that comes with the Deluxe Edition of Logan Faerberg’s graphic novel called Black Death. Find out below.

Here is a complete list of print artists and their subjects:

  • Ian McGinty, Detective Popcorn
  • Sean Von Gorman, The Jersey Devil
  • Noah Van Sciver, Bigfoot
  • Jenna Cha, moth man
  • Norzine, Aum Shinrikyo
  • Martin Morazzo, John Wayne Gacy
  • Logan Faerber, Black Death
  • Courtney Ménard, The Rendlesham Forest incident

“We are delighted to extend our bloodlust comic with Z2 and The last comic on the left, noted Henry Zebrowski. “We see a lot of our most ‘colorful’ ideas getting evil MAG Magazine processing. Z2 works with some of the most talented artists and creators in the comic book world and it is a privilege to be in their talented hands.

Check out Bob Fingerman’s main cover below.

Z2 EXCLUSIVE First Look: The Last Comic Book on the Left Vol.  1

To learn more about this project, read the official press release below.

NEW YORK, NY — After producing nearly 500 full episodes exploring mankind’s darkest corners and supernatural terror, horror comedy connoisseurs Marcus Parks, Henry Zebrowski and Ben Kissel inaugurate their Last podcast left in the strangest realm of all: the comics. The trio have teamed up with Z2 Comics, a publisher dedicated to uniting pioneering groups and artists with sequential art, to release a new series of graphic novels, starting with The last comic on the left Vol. 1, which debuts in the spring of 2022.

The project will pay homage to the history of horror comics with a curated and nested anthology in the vein of Sinister, Sinister, Tales from the Crypt, and The Horror Chest. Participating creators include the most innovative voices in the genre, including:

  • James Tynion IV (The Department of Truth, Something is killing the children)
  • Rick Veitch (Swamp thing, Miracle man)
  • Bob Fingerman (Minimum wage, Evade the question)
  • Tyler Boss (4 children enter a bank, What is the farthest place from here?)
  • Ryan Cady (Kelly machine gun Hotel Diablo, Sublime: $ 5 at the door)
    • Eliot Rahal (Kelly machine gun Hotel Diablo, the next Cheech and Chong Chronicles: The Graphic Novel)
  • Morgan Beem (Swamp Thing: Twin Branches, The family business)
  • Noah Van Sciver (Grateful to Dead Origins, the next Cheech and Chong Chronicles: The Graphic Novel)
  • Logan faerber

“We are delighted to extend our bloodlust comic with Z2 and The last comic on the left, noted Henry Zebrowski. “We see a lot of our most ‘colorful’ ideas getting evil MAG Magazine processing. Z2 works with some of the most talented artists and creators in the comic book world and it is a privilege to be in their talented hands.

“When I was first turned on The last podcast on the left a few years ago, I immediately hooked. As a longtime nutcase with an obsession with crime, the paranormal and the occult, I learned to choke on talking about it in mixed company – listening to this podcast on The Weird was an instant release valve, ” says Z2 Comics editor Josh Frankel. “Being able to work with the guys to bring their comedic vision to life, as well as doing it in a format that pays homage to some of the greatest publications of all time, is insane to me.”

Marcus Parks and Henry Zebrowski will also contribute a story to the project, illustrated by legendary artist John McCrea (Hitman, Boys: herogasm). Eric Powell (the thug, Did you hear what Eddie Gein did?), Martin Morazzo (Man ice cream, HAHA) and Bob Fingerman provide the cover.

Embracing further the podcast wedding of the sinister and silly luxury editions of The last comic on the left will also come with a series of prints, revolving around weirdly erotic cryptids and other spooky surrealisms. Artists and subjects include:

  • Ian McGinty, Detective Popcorn
  • Sean Von Gorman, The Jersey Devil
  • Noah Van Sciver, Bigfoot
  • Jenna Cha, moth man
  • Norzine, Aum Shinrikyo
  • Martin Morazzo, John Wayne Gacy
  • Logan Faerber, Black Death
  • Courtney Ménard, The Rendlesham Forest incident

The last comic on the left Vol. 1 will be available this spring at participating retailers and can be ordered directly from Z2.

Do you like what we do here at AIPT? Consider supporting us and independent comic book journalism by becoming a sponsor today! Along with our sincere thanks, you can browse AIPT ad-free, access our vibrant Discord community of customers and staff, receive commercial paperbacks sent to your home each month, and much more. Click the button below to get started!


Share.

About Author

Comments are closed.