Vegan marshmallows are at Walmart just in time for S’mores season

0

Finding a bag of plant-based marshmallows for a campfire can seem nearly impossible as almost all of the major brands use animal-based gelatin as an ingredient. All of that is about to change thanks to the Yummallo brand, which recently launched a new vegan marshmallow available at Walmarts nationwide. The brand decided to ditch gelatin, an ingredient made from pig and cow ligaments, skin and tendons, in order to produce an all-vegan marshmallow.

Yummallo made a name for herself with her non-vegan rainbow-colored marshmallows and chips, but once she realized how many customers couldn’t buy her products, the company determined it had to change. . The new plant-based marshmallows contain sugar, corn starch, rice protein, and vanilla, leaving behind unnecessary animal products typically found in top brand marshmallows.

“We’re known for our colorful and fun marshmallows, but our client has been asking us for a gelatin-free marshmallow for quite some time,” said Yummallo co-founder David Walker. VegNews, “We are very pleased to have the opportunity to market one at an affordable price.”

Plant-based marshmallow may not be the end of vegan innovation for Yummalo: Walker went on to say that based on this reception and growing consumer interest in plant-based foods , the brand would aim to develop a wider range of vegan products for its customers. . For now, the gelatin-free marshmallow can be purchased for $ 3.89 for a 10-ounce bag.

The company is also not the first brand in the market to abandon gelatin. Yummalo’s new vegan marshmallow follows companies like Trader Joe’s and Dandies that have previously released the treat without animal ingredients. Dandies’ vegan marshmallow line has grown rapidly in the United States and Canada, with seasonal flavors and marshmallows in varying sizes. Whether used for s’more, hot chocolate, or Rice Krispy treats, the options for plant-based marshmallows are endless.

Yummallo, alongside the other companies, will make marshmallows accessible to all customers by removing one ingredient: gelatin. As herbal demand continues to increase, companies that experiment with animal-free options will continue to grow to meet consumer demand.

Share.

About Author

Comments are closed.